Buyuk Han (Great Inn)

Buyuk Han was built in the 16th century after the Ottomans conquered the island. It was called Alaiyeliler Inn because German traders preferred to stay there for decades. It was transformed into prison at around the end of the 1800s when the island was reigned by Britishs. Between 1903 and 1947 it was used for services due to its original purpose, and until 1962 each room has been rented for families. It was so worn out on this date and emptied. From 1982 to 2002 it has been renovated with restorations, and the inn today is a place where full of shops, workshops, plus concerts, and exhibitions are held.