Kom Ombo (aka Kawm Umbu)

Kom Ombo is a region on the Nile between the main valley highway and the Cairo-Aswan Railway. The town's population largely consists of ethnic Nubians or mixed Egypto-Nubians, and most of them are sugarcane farmers. Kom Ombo is known for the temple Kom Ombo, which is dedicated to the ancient Egyptian gods Sebek (Suchos) and Horus. The temple was built in 180-47 BC during the Ptolemaic dynasty and is atypical because everything is symmetrical along the main axis. The temple was damaged for both natural and unnatural reasons, such as being defaced by Copts when they were using the temple as a church. In 1893, it was restored by French mining engineer and archaeologist Jacques de Morgan. Currently, it is one of the most popular tourist attractions in Egypt.