It was a Greek village around the 19th century. In 1923 because of the Turkey-Greece Population Exchange, it becomes a Turkish village. It has been known that any of the houses do not block any of others' views. The village still protects its original architectural features that red tile roofs, cobbled streets, and quaint stone houses can be seen. The village additionally has fertile grape, peach, and apple orchards, and its local fruit wine reputation is known around the world. It is also known as the safe territory during the apocalypse according to the Mayan calendar, so many people thus visit the area on December 21, 2012.
Today it is a popular tourist area with its wine tasting sessions, local restaurants, and gift shops.