The Cathedral of St. John

The Cathedral of St. John was founded by the House of Lusignan, and when the Benedictines left the island because of the Mamluk invasions in 1426, it passed to the Orthodox. In the 17th century, Archbishop Nikiphoros reconstructed the church by using the remaining basement for the reconstruction in 1662, according to the notice on the slab. The church has become the residence of the Archbishop of Cyprus after the reconstruction. Its ruins can be visited in Nicosia.