After the conquest of Istanbul, the fortress lost its importance and get damaged in time. However, it was completely restored in 1953 on the occasion of the 500th anniversary of the conquest and opened to visitors. In 1968 it has turned into a museum. The fortress is almost as it was the day it was built. The 4 main gates, which are Mountain, Dizdar, Hisarpece, and Sel, plus 17 high and small towers, can be visited. In summer, the annual Rumeli Concerts are held there, and the music can be heard from the Bosphorus.